This year’s 2018 Merck/Vanguard Award Winner is Kim Broedel-Zaugg.

Dr. Broedel-Zaugg (aka Dr. BZ) received a BS in Pharmacy from Ohio Northern University, an MBA from Ashland University, and the PhD in pharmacy administration from The Ohio State University.  She practiced in various hospital settings for 10 years prior to her PhD and then taught at Ohio Northern for 17 years.  While at ONU, she served as Advisor for Kappa Epsilon, President  for the University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, was inducted into Phi Lambda Sigma, and continued membership in Rho Chi. She served on the board for the Ohio Society of Hospital Pharmacists and continues to serve as a committee member and served on the board for the Ohio Pharmacists Association.  She is a member of the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists, the American Pharmacists Association, and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy where she completed the leadership fellows program.  She serves on the legislative committee for the West Virginia Society of Health Systems Pharmacists as well as the Resolutions committee for the Ohio Pharmacists Association. In addition, she has published 16 peer reviewed articles and presented over 50 posters/presentations in collaboration with students and colleagues.  Awards include:  Kappa Epsilon’s 2011 Career Achievement Award, Kappa Epsilon’s Unicorn Award, Kappa Epsilon’s Advisor of the Year Award, and the ONU Alumni Endowed Chair Award for 2005.  Currently, she serves as Chair & Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Administration, & Research at Marshall University School of Pharmacy.