Honorary President in the American Pharmacists Association is conferred upon a member who has made significant contributions to the Association.

On behalf of the Grand Council of the Kappa Epsilon Fraternity, we are pleased to acknowledge and share news of this prestigious honor bestowed to our own Metta Lou Henderson, longtime dedicated Member of the Kappa Epsilon Fraternity.

Metta Lou Henderson, BSPharm, MS, PhD, HonD, was elected in recognition of her lifelong commitment as a scholar and advocate for the profession of pharmacy. Her career in pharmacy practice includes roles as a practitioner, educator, academic administrator, researcher, regulator, historian, and mentor. During her tenure at Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy, she served as Professor; Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice; Associate Dean for Pharmacy Student Services; and Advisor to several organizations including Mortar Board, Kappa Epsilon Fraternity, and Phi Lambda Sigma.

Henderson has been active in a number of local, state, and national pharmacy organizations, including the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, APhA, Rho Chi, the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy, and the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. She also served as National President of both Kappa Epsilon and Phi Lambda Sigma. Henderson received her BSPharm, MS, and PhD from the University of Arizona and her honorary degree from Ohio Northern University.

Today, we celebrate that seven KE Members have been conferred the distinguished position as APhA Honorary President:

  • Marjorie Moburg Coghill (Gamma) 1980-1981
  • Louise Schmitz Kortz (Alpha) 1982-1983
  • Gloria Niemeyer Francke (Pi) 1986-1987
  • Mary Louise Anderson (Omicron) 1997-1998
  • Joy Holloman Donelson (Alpha Mu) 2005-2006
  • Hazel M. Pipkin (Xi) 2011-2012
  • Metta Lou Henderson (Sigma) 2015-2016

News Article text provided courtesy of APhA.

The American Pharmacists Association, founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association, is a 501 (c) (6) organization, representing more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others interested in advancing the profession. APhA, dedicated to helping all pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care, is the first-established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States.